Buzz Poll: Who gets your single vote for the Hall of Fame this year?

This year’s Baseball Hall of Fame ballot has been released by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America with several new names and players who appeared on last year’s ballot but failed to get selected on 75 percent of the vote.

It’s a crop that includes Chipper Jones, Jim Thome and Johan Santana among the newcomers and Larry Walker, Fred McGriff, Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens among those left over from past ballots.

Below is the ballot that all BBWAA members will receive. The writers can vote for as many as 10 players. Those who appear on 75 percent of all ballots cast will be inducted into the Hall.

Continue reading

Buzz Break: 1999 Team Best Baseball America’s Top Prospects


From time to time, Buzz will break a box of something and post the results here. Like this and want to see more? Or maybe there’s a box you’d want to see busted? Send Buzz an email at

berkmanThe box: 1999 Team Best Baseball America‘s Top Prospects minor league cards
Where to buy: 
Check eBay

Packs per box: 18
Cards per pack: 6
Cards in this box: 109
Base set completion: 
97 of 100 (97 percent)
Duplicates: 6

Base cards of note – Rick Ankiel, Bronson Arroyo, Lance Berkman, Milton Bradley, Pat Burrell, Michael Cuddyer, Aubrey Huff, Chad Hutchinson, Carlos Lee, Mark Mulder, Corey Patterson, Carlos Pena, Brad Penny, Jayson Werth, Randy Wolf

Continue reading