DC Comics readies updated spin on Hanna-Barbera classics Scooby-Doo, The Flintstones & more

ScoobyDoo_LeeCVR-(1)_56a96acfa57a34.15976450Ruh-roh, Shaggy.

Fans of Scooby-Doo, The Flintstones, Space Ghost and other classic Hanna-Barbera characters will be able to revisit their old favorites in new ways as DC Comics revealed on Thursday that it’s bringing them to life once again.

How? In new comic books.

“I can’t think of anyone that doesn’t look back at these characters with anything but fond memories,” said Dan DiDio, DC Entertainment Co-Publisher, in a prepared statement. “With this initial lineup of titles and talent, we’re excited for fans to experience the reimagining of these Saturday-morning classics with a more modern and contemporary look and feel.”

Flintstones-promo_56a96b6a4cc2b0.64878617Scooby Apocalypse will showcase the story of Freddie, Velma, Daphne, Shaggy and Scooby-Doo with artist ad writer Jim Lee among the creative forces. Future Quest will combine the forces of Jonny Quest with Space Ghost, The Herculoids, Birdman and more.

Wacky Raceland will showcase Ant Hill Mob, Penelope Pitstop and Dick Dastardly, while, of course, The Flintstones will revisit the antics of Fred Flintstone, Barney Rubble,  Betty, Wilma, Bamm-Bamm and Pebbles. (Oh, and we can’t forget Dino.)

The books will arrive beginning in May. (For more information and images, click here.)

Follow Buzz on Twitter @BlowoutBuzz or send email to BlowoutBuzz@blowoutcards.com. 

>> Click here to buy non-sports cards on BlowoutCards.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s